Skip to content

Show Recap Crush: Viva Voce, Cut Off Your Hands, Telextile, The Living Sea @ Great Scott last night, 6/2

June 3, 2009

Last night at Great Scott I had the pleasure of stumbling upon The Living Sea [left] who impressed me with their sound which reminded me of Rainer Maria (one of my favorites). Singer Catie Rae Zappala’s stage presence was energetic and charming, and her zebra-striped fanny pack was simply fabulous. I picked up the group’s EP, The Living Sea Plays Madeline, and I’m rocking out to it today at work. I am excited to hear more from these guys. Keep an eye out for them!

They were followed by Brooklyn’s Teletextile, who had a subdued sound that was marked by dense piano and guitar sounds (on some songs, one of the guitarists used a bow). Their set was mellow and ambient. 
Next up was New Zealand’s Cut Off Your Hands. I’ve been impressed by New Zealand exports in the past few years (The Brunettes, Liam Finn, Connan and the Mockasins) and these guys didn’t disappoint with their high-energy rock a la The Strokes or The Vines. 

Finally, Viva Voce took the stage. Everyone in the room crowded up close for the Portland, OR duo-turned-quartet. I loved these guys last time I saw them when it was just Anita and Kevin Robinson [left], but I REALLY REALLY love them now with the addition of Corrina Repp [below] on guitar and Evan Railton (of Swords) on drums. Adding these two was a great move on the Robinsons’ part, helping them break out of the limitations of just drums and guitar (in fact, Kevin played bass the whole time, which surprised me since I’ve always known him to helm the drums). Their big, stunning set was made more hearty by these extra layers. Their latest, Rose City, just came out, and you can listen to some of it here.
Photos by Andy Be

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

