Skip to content

One Night Band Crush: Chris Mulvey

August 7, 2009

To find out more about Boston Band Crush’s “One Night Band” please visit:
http://www.onenightbandboston.com

Check back each day for more interviews with our participants!

Chris Mulvey is the singer/guitarist for Muy Cansado. He’s a dedicated songwriter.

History: Muy Cansado: 2006-9. Solo acoustic singer-songwritery stuff: 2000-6. The New Dumb: 2003-4. Music degree from Boston College.


BBC
: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most like to have a One
Night Band with?
CM: On drums – David Lovering for two reasons; the Pixies is one of my favorite bands ever and it’d be a trip to play with him, because he’s family. On guitar (other than me) I’d probably want Jay Mascis, because he’s awesome and on micellaneous other instruments I’d go with Jon Brion because he’s amazing at making other people’s music sound great and he might be my favorite musician ever. On bass I guess I’d go for Mark Sandman – why not?


BBC:
What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most fear having a One Night Band with?
CM: Lisa Libera; it’d be weird since we’re already in a band together. I can just imagine how weird it’d be at our next band rehearsal (awkward city).


BBC:
What is your normal song or part writing process? Will writing three songs in a single day drastically differ from your usual approach to creating music?
CM: My normal songwriting process is to strum on my acoustic guitar and sing gibberish. I usually go back after I’ve got a general form down and turn the gibberish into lyrics, but that usually happens way after the initial song has been written and I usually go with the lyrics that sound the most
like the gibberish sounds I’ve been making. I typically write in phases where I write a lot of material in a short period of time, but I like I said, I usually only write a melody and chord progression. After that I take the songs to Lisa and we kick the shit out of them for a while. That’s how I write.

I don’t think writing three songs in one day will be a problem. I should be able to write three songs pretty easily I suspect. However, that means I’ll have to come up with lyrics, which is a pain in the ass. Remembering them is an even bigger pain in the ass.

BBC: What Boston band do you have the biggest crush on right now?
CM: I’ll be cliché and say The Luxury. I’ll also throw out St Helena & The Motion Sick; just played with them and they get better each time. Finally I’ll throw in Dinosaur Jr. (they just put out a new album, so they’re fair game). This city is rocking pretty hard lately.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

