Skip to content

One Night Band Crush: Julie Two Times

August 20, 2009

To find out more about Boston Band Crush’s “One Night Band” please visit:
http://www.onenightbandboston.com

Check back each day for more interviews with our participants!

Julie Two Times grew up bothering her parents by banging on the piano then decided to move onto her current love: bass guitar. She currently plays in one of Boston’s strongest up-and-coming bands, The New Alibis, and has also recently joined Vagiant, an all-girl super rock fest spectacular wrapped up in 4 hot musicians.

On any given day you can find her either playing a show, attending a show, practicing for a show, or frequenting various clam shacks around New England.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most like to have a One Night Band with?
JTT: I would love to have a group full of my personal friends having a One Night Band with me. Mainly because I know they’d make fun of me straight to my face when I’d royally screw up.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most fear having a One Night Band with?
JTT: All of the ones everyone else would LOVE to have a night with! When I first started with The New Alibis, I was TERRIFIED of playing with Jesse Von Kenmore and Paul Christian (Far From Finished) (we didn’t have Drew Suxx {LCA} yet). I was such a rookie and these guys were pretty much pros at what they do. Granted, playing with them has made me a MUCH better player and I always think that everyone should get a chance on a regular basis to challenge themselves with great musicians…but it doesn’t mean it’s not insanely scary!

BBC: What is your normal song or part writing process? Will writing three songs in a single day drastically differ from your usual approach to creating music?
JTT: Both bands I’m currently in are pretty quick at writing new material… but nothing like this! I’ve got faith that so long as everyone has respect for each other and not everyone is trying to control everything at every moment that the bands can pull this off. That to me is the most important ingredient in this crazy pot. I don’t think I’d personally try to write 3 songs in a day. Songs need their own steeping time. It’s like painting (for me anyway.). I’ll do something, think it’s the greatest thing since greatness, then look at it the next day and think…WTF?!? The way some may view the other half of a one night stand the day after. But I’m a good girl; I wouldn’t know.

BBC: What Boston band do you have the biggest crush on right now?
JTT: Dirty Truckers. And, not that I’m biased, but Vagiant and Tenafly Vipers. =) muahahaha.

http://bandcamp.com/EmbeddedPlayer.swf/track=1992153616/size=venti/bgcol=FFFFFF/linkcol=4285BB/

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

