Skip to content

One Night Band Crush: Cullen Corley

August 21, 2009

To find out more about Boston Band Crush’s “One Night Band” please visit:
http://www.onenightbandboston.com

Check back each day for more interviews with our participants!

Cullen Corley is a Boston-based and (for the most part) Boston-raised 23-year-old drummer with a wide smattering of influences. From metal to afro-cuban to funk to jazz, he likes to bring a lot of different ideas and feels to whatever he’s playing.

His start was in noise/progressive art rock (Nash Lane), and he has since played metal/hard rock (No One’s Kind, Best of Boston 2003 and 2005 in the Boston Phoenix), pop (Yuki), experimental rock and funk (Postage 25), danceable retro-electro hip-hop/rock (Electric Laser People), singer-songwriter support (Dylan Duncan), straight-ahead rock and roll (Carnival Hero), experimental indie (Kernaklian), and blues rock (Kuuluuko).

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most like to have a One Night Band with?
CC: I’d love to jam with the guys from the Rex Complex. They run a huge aural gamut and touch on a lot of different styles… and make it all fun and groovy as hell. Afro-funk-hop-rock? word.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most fear having a One Night Band with?
CC: I’m not sure I impersonally know enough Boston rockers well enough to answer this question. Does attending music school in Boston (and probably playing some gigs at the time) qualify you as a “past Boston rocker?” If so, I’d say John Mayer… I recently heard some accounts from the road that were none too flattering. In fact, I’m almost anxious about calling him a past Boston rocker, lest I insult true Boston rockers by putting him in the category…

BBC: What is your normal song or part writing process? Will writing three songs in a single day
CC: I’ve been involved in lots of different writing routines, from taking a fully-fleshed song and just putting a beat to it to starting at nothing and jamming out a tune… so I’m not sure I have a typical writing routine. In my main project right now, Kuuluuko, a blues rock duo, we’ve mostly been starting with riffs or beats and jamming on them until they guide the song themselves, which I have a feeling will be how ONB works. I’m excited to see how it works with a group of musicians who potentially have never previously been in the same room together.

BBC: What Boston band do you have the biggest crush on right now?
CC: I think I’d say my biggest crush is the Rex Complex because I saw them recently and was reminded of how sick they are. I hear they’re headed back to Brooklyn soon, though! 😦

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

