Skip to content

One Night Band Crush: Nikki Dessingue

August 2, 2010

Visit the One Night Band website and the Facebook event to find out more about One Night Band 2010 on August 21 at the Middle East downstairs. Check back here each day for more interviews with our participants!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Nikki Dessingue is a self-taught singer and knob-turner with about five years in the Boston music scene under her belt. With projects and cameos ranging from electronic dance rock and comedy folk (?!) to ’50s inspired girl pop and full-on indie/ambient rock, she is now finally settling into her current indie electro-pop duo, Stereo Telescope. Nikki has done nothing if not explore what our eclectic scene has to offer. There’s not much she loves more in this world than an excellent harmony.

Rider includes: one giant baby bottle, a helmet full of cottage cheese, naked pictures of Bea Arthur, and of course, a Japanese urn full of Percocet (a nostalgic request left over from her time-travel days with The Campaign for Real Time… its a stressful job).

Along with C4RT, past projects include Where the Land Meets the Sea, OK Thursday, and Super Time Pilot.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most like to have a One Night Band with?
ND: My good friends in Mean Creek and Larcenist. Their music sways much more folk/americana and even punk influenced, which is very strong in my background even though I’ve headed in a more electronic pop direction. I’d love to have a one night band that would bring me back to my roots. Alternatively, past Boston rockers, the boys from Frank Smith… same concept.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most fear having a One Night Band with?
ND: I don’t think I’d fear anything in this area, even if you threw me in the mix with a crew of thrash metal blokes, I’d have some fun with it. However, the most difficult thing for me is being in the mix with people who have a full classic background (i.e. lessons/jazz/Berklee etc.). I’m self-taught on all the instruments I play now (8 years of concert alto sax never really crossed over to rock music), and that language doesn’t always translate. But again, any challange is a good challenge.

BBC: Did you attend One Night Band last year? If so, what was the highlight? If not, what do you anticipate the event to be like?
ND: I did not attend last year, but my good friend and past C4RT comrade Mike Potvin told me it was a total blast, so this year I made sure I wouldn’t miss it!

BBC: What is your normal song or part writing process? Will writing three songs in a single day drastically differ from your usual approach to creating music?
ND: My process is chaotic… write down whatever pops into my head (I’m more on the melody and lyrical craft most times), wherever, and if I can make it to my piano in time, I’ll develop it, if not it goes in the notebook and to my other half for the rest of the process, but starting and possibly finishing multiple songs in a day isn’t out of the ordinary… just this night I’ll bring it to a crew of my contemporaries for finishing instead of to Kurt and my control room of gadgets.

BBC: What Boston band do you have the biggest crush on right now?
ND: I crush hard on Mean Creek and You Can Be a Wesley, and Passion Pit is definitely an influence as well as a crush.

Check out Stereo Telescope on Facebook

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

