Skip to content

One Night Band Crush: Karina DaCosta

August 3, 2010

Visit the One Night Band website and the Facebook event to find out more about One Night Band 2010 on August 21 at the Middle East downstairs. Check back here each day for more interviews with our participants!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Ana Karina DaCosta grew up going back and forth between Rio de Janeiro and Warrenton, VA. She managed to enjoy both worlds and what came of it was a somewhat schizophrenic music collection. Growing up with Caetano Veloso, Elis Regina, Madonna and Michael Jackson ringing in your ears has its upside. Karina was happily and easily coerced into playing the cello at 11 by her friend Scott Tester, and there began a great love affair with classical music. Karina loves samba music and ’80s synth pop equally, with a real soft spot for Pink Floyd. You can find Karina playing shows with 28 Degrees Taurus as well as Bobb Trimble’s Flying Spiders and Mikey French Fries on occasion. Karina can be found drinking Jagermeister exclusively around town.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most like to have a One Night Band with?
KD: The Cars. I heard the greatest hits recently and it’s just so damn inspiring. I would have been in New Kids on the Block, too. I used to fantasize about seeing them when I was visiting my family in town.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most fear having a One Night Band with?
KD: This Car Up. I can’t drink that much whiskey and stand up, let alone sing. I don’t mind saying I fear that, because fear goes hand in hand with love.

BBC: Did you attend One Night Band last year? If so, what was the highlight? If not, what do you anticipate the event to be like?
KD: I couldn’t be there because I had a show somewhere else, but I am hoping it’s like the scene from Back to the Future when he plays “Johnny Be Good” and everyone is like… huh? whoah!

BBC: What is your normal song or part writing process? Will writing three songs in a single day drastically differ from your usual approach to creating music?
KD: Mr. Jinsen Liu provides the lion’s share of material for our band. I like to help with dynamics and arrangements. I am big on that having played in orchestras for so long. We’ve done well working that way. Jinsen’s really good with melodies and I am really good at dissecting parts and emphasizing the changes in them, I think. The same goes for him when I bring in an idea. I tend to write bass parts with minimal lyrics and he knows what I like enough that I don’t have to tell him what to do. I like for there to be a lot of “space” in the songs.

BBC: What Boston band do you have the biggest crush on right now?
KD: I am a Gemini. I don’t crush on one thing at a time! I love Ponies in the Surf, The Wandas, Mean Creek, Bobb Trimble’s Flying Spiders and Night Fruit.

Check out 28 Degrees Taurus on MySpace

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

