Skip to content

One Night Band Crush: Justin Tibbetts

August 4, 2010

Visit the One Night Band website and the Facebook event to find out more about One Night Band 2010 on August 21 at the Middle East downstairs. Check back here each day for more interviews with our participants!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Having traded in his full-time music career for the gangster life of financial services, Justin Tibbetts augments that adventure by working as a wine professional at The Boston Wine Exchange and playing drums for Brendan Boogie and The Best Intentions.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most like to have a One Night Band with?
JT: The first that came to mind was The Cars or Will Dailey. Rich Gilbert is a mad genius. Does John Williams count? Joe Wizda. Actually, my attorney has just informed me that I am under a contractual obligation to answer “Brendan Boogie.”

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most fear having a One Night Band with?
JT: Brendan Boogie. Wait, scratch that. My attorney has also informed me that there is a non-disparagement clause in my contractual agreement. Nate Rogers’ piercing glare and furrowed brow of disappointment have kept me up at night a few times, but that’s a story for another time.

BBC: Did you attend One Night Band last year? If so, what was the highlight? If not, what do you anticipate the event to be like?
JT: No, I was unfortunately out of town during last year’s show, but I did get to check out the documentary. The highlight for me was probably the rhyming of “chariot” with “Marriott.” [From Awesome Chariot’s theme song.] I’m anticipating a long day, especially if it is weather like we are having now. I’m looking forward to working with some new musicians and maybe working with some friends for the first time.

BBC: What is your normal song or part writing process? Will writing three songs in a single day drastically differ from your usual approach to creating music?
JT: I’m not much of a writer but I think I have a good ear for arrangement. I’m good at taking the rough pieces and getting them to flow together well. I tend to take everything in, process it, and then tell everyone it’s terrible. I also enjoy keeping guitar players on their toes by telling them they are out of tune when they aren’t.

BBC: What Boston band do you have the biggest crush on right now?
JT: I’m really looking forward to the debut EP from The Future Everybody as well as the 2nd release from The Rationales.

Check out Justin with Brendan Boogie Online Here

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

