Skip to content

One Night Band Crush: Brian E. King

August 9, 2010

Visit the One Night Band website and the Facebook event to find out more about One Night Band 2010 on August 21 at the Middle East downstairs. Check back here each day for more interviews with our participants!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..


Brian E. King is the mastermind/songwriter behind Oranjuly a catchy-as-hell powerpop group, who (according to the Boston Phoenix) “Truly fulfills indie-pop’s promise. They’ve got punchy rhythms, lovable hooks, and smile-inducing stylistic twists and turns to spare.”

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most like to have a One Night Band with?
BEK: Tough question. I do get to play with some of my favorite Boston rockers often but I’ll say Mike Viola or Spirit Kid or Thick as Thieves.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most fear having a One Night Band with?
BEK: I’ll probably get stuck with those people so I’ll avoid this one for the awkwardness which will ensue, given my luck.

BBC: Did you attend One Night Band last year? If so, what was the highlight? If not, what do you anticipate the event to be like?
BEK: The whole thing was awesome. I saw a few people I know play with people in bands I know they personally didn’t like so that was interesting to see some possibly cringe-worthy moments but that’s the fun.

BBC: What is your normal song or part writing process? Will writing three songs in a single day drastically differ from your usual approach to creating music?
BEK: It’ll be interesting as I usually write every part for my songs but I surprisingly collaborate well with the right people who are trying to serve the SONG better than the ego.

BBC: What Boston band do you have the biggest crush on right now?
BEK: I have a lot. The Russians and Spirit Kid probably.

Check out Oranjuly online here

http://bandcamp.com/EmbeddedPlayer.swf/album=1764246196/size=venti/bgcol=FFFFFF/linkcol=4285BB/

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

