Skip to content

One Night Band Crush: Kate Murdoch

August 11, 2010

Visit the One Night Band website and the Facebook event to find out more about One Night Band 2010 on August 21 at the Middle East downstairs. Check back here each day for more interviews with our participants!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..


Kate Murdoch plays guitar and sings backup vocals in rock/power pop/glam band Sidewalk Driver. She likes miniature horses and pandas.

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most like to have a One Night Band with?
KM: I would create a supergroup with Rikki Bates on drums, Jim Zavadoski on bass, John Powhida on rhythm guitar and lead vocals, and Alex “Gumball” Garrido on lead guitar. I would play guitar and sing backup vocals, just as I do with my actual band, Sidewalk Driver. This One Night Band supergroup would be called Society for the Scientific Study of Reading, which would result in people assuming it’s a Mike Epstein project. After the show, I would beg SFTSSOR to do reunion shows, but they would say, “No way.”

BBC: What Boston rockers, past or present, would you most fear having a One Night Band with?
KM: Jordan Valentine because her big, bluesy, kick-ass voice would make me sound like a dink.

BBC: Did you attend One Night Band last year? If so, what was the highlight? If not, what do you anticipate the event to be like?
KM: I did, indeed! I was amazed at the overall quality of the original songs. But the highlight for me was seeing my bandmate, Tad, singing on The Champagne of Bands’ cover of The Pixies’ “Monkey Gone to Heaven.” I also remember thinking, “Oh crap. I hope they don’t ask me to do this next year.” I’m terrified.

BBC: What is your normal song or part writing process? Will writing three songs in a single day drastically differ from your usual approach to creating music?
KM: When Sidewalk Driver first started, Tad had several songs completely written and we just sort of fine-tuned some of the arrangements. Over the past few years, our songwriting has become more collaborative. Tad usually comes to the rest of us with a song idea — usually a chorus and maybe an idea for the verse or bridge — and we go from there. My specialty is writing two-note parts (I maintain that the intro to “Dancing with Her Friends” will one day rival the “Jaws” theme song as the most identifiable two notes in music) and telling Jared to “Play more stuff like that.” Writing three songs in a single day will be very different from anything I’ve ever done. The ease of the writing process and the quality of the resulting songs will obviously depend on the combination of people in the room. I just hope I don’t wind up with Will Davies…

BBC: What Boston band do you have the biggest crush on right now?
KM: We were lucky enough to share a bill with Township recently and holy shit… Not that it’s groundbreaking news, but man, do they rock. Incredible show, incredible sound and incredible rock ‘n’ roll hair.

Check out Sidewalk Driver online here

http://bandcamp.com/EmbeddedPlayer.swf/track=2231236165/size=venti/bgcol=2f9fa7/linkcol=ffffff/

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

