Skip to content

Best of 2010: Christopher Pappas’ Top Five Things I Miss About Boston

December 14, 2010

We invited friends to submit their Best of 2010 lists, wherein the only rule was that they had to somehow pertain to local music. If you’d like to submit a list for possible publication, email us!

Well Boston, it’s nice to run into you again. I know, I know. It may be a little awkward between us, because it’s true; I’ve abandoned ship. I’m a turncoat, a traitor, a fence jumper, and I’m not afraid to admit it: I love L.A.

That statement on its own could be considered cringe-worthy enough, but added to it the fact that it is going to be reprinted in a BOSTON blog is enough for any level headed BBC frequenter to dismiss me as, well, quite a douche.

While I would ask for the readers indulgence in not casting such quick judgment, not for the sake of the fact that I’m not a douche – because I certainly am, but rather for the fact that while I say I love L.A. that doesn’t mean Boston isn’t still very much in my heart.

I love Boston too, and dammit – I’ve got me a list to prove it. So without further ado:

The TOP FIVE THINGS I MISS ABOUT BOSTON (in no ordah, brah.)

1.) Mean Creek
Not only is this band made up of people that I miss, just on a personal level – it also adds a crushing blow to my heart as a musician that I cannot see these guys (and gal) live as much as I used to. They are super powerful and inspiring, and while turning on their records and dressing my pillow up in a green army jacket to pretend its Chris Keene may be a fun activity, it certainly doesn’t have the same punch as seeing them in the flesh.

2.) The Lizard Lounge
Basically my second home. While I was, more or less, homeless, crashing on couches before I left for L.A. (namely Billy Beard’s couch), it was a common joke among friends that Billy should just let me sleep in the dressing room at the Lizard and charge me a small rental fee. THAT’S how much I frequented this club. Great vibe, great beer, great staff – and when I come home for Christmas, that’s the first place I’m going. Which, coincidentally, leads nicely too:

3.) Session Americana
Calling yourself a professional musician in Boston while not being able to say you’ve seen Session Americana live is akin to a professional film critic admitting that they “still haven’t gotten around to seeing The Godfather.” Picture it: True veterans of the music scene, gathered around one microphone in a lowly lit room, playing covers, originals — letting all the beauty that the songs have to offer just pour out naturally and organically from their un-amplified voices and instruments. There is something almost holy about their residencies at the Lizard Lounge; evidenced by the overwhelming sense of musical camaraderie and community that echoes in every beer soaked note. Attention fellow hipsters: It’s time to go to church and drink a few beers while true musical preachers save your soul. Hallelujah.

4.) IPAs (namely Harpoon)
Apparently, the delicious 6.9% ABV joy of IPAs hasn’t made it west enough yet, because seriously: Finding an IPA in Los Angeles is like trying to find an uncrowded E Line train – people talk about them existing, but I have yet to see one with my own eyes. My favorite IPA is even MADE in California (Lagunitas IPA) and I have YET to find it in any bar I’ve been to. One word: Travesty.

5.) Central Square
Having always had Central Square as part of my everyday Boston experience, I never truly understood its importance and, more importantly, how RARE it is until I moved away. It can’t be overstated enough that Central Square’s bohemian arts and music vibe is a truly rare gift, and something that I took for granted. Having a centralized (heh) location where a ton of great music venues are is quite a gem, and I’d be lying if I said I didn’t miss stumbling out of the Middle East with soundman extraordinaire Dan Seiders at 2am, catching a ride with him back to Watertown, with a quick stop at the 7-11 on Mt. Auburn for a veggie burrito.
Memories.

Christopher Pappas is the frontman for The Everyday Visuals (who open for Liz Phair at the Paradise tomorrow night) and his multi-instrumental solo project Miracle Parade and, as of recently, resides in Los Angeles. He is most definitely not a douche.
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

