Skip to content

Best of 2010: Jessica Sun Lee’s Top Ten Reasons To Live In Boston

December 17, 2010

We invited friends to submit their Best of 2010 lists, wherein the only rule was that they had to somehow pertain to local music. If you’d like to submit a list for possible publication, email us!

Jessica Sun Lee’s Top 10 Reasons Why I’m Still Living In Boston

1) I’ve been (back) here for nearly 6 years and I’m still always discovering local bands that rock. No kidding.

2) There’s a real sense of community here. People genuinely give a sh*t about people they might not even know that well.

3) I’ve grown to thrive on the panic attacks that ensue when I get a chain of notifications for horrifying photo tags. The swift untagging process can feel like a game of Whack-a-Mole.

4) There’s support for the veterans as well as those just starting out. I had heard that the Boston music scene was brutal and backstabbing before I started playing out in ’07. I was pleasantly surprised that those people were dead wrong. Perhaps they just hadn’t put forth the effort to get to know the people they shared bills with.

5) At the end of a show when you’re all sweaty and gross, people actually still want to hug you.

6) Richard Bouchard’s hats, Ad Frank’s white pants, Michael J. Epstein’s mustache, and Mick Murray’s camera in your face are all things you can rely on.

7) The bands here are diverse – especially as of late. You can actually have a cross-genre bill with a good crossover crowd of people who like and stay for the range of music.

8) Sunday night local radio shows, blogs, papers, club nights, photographers, and music lovers who come out to all of the shows, all keep this city alive and pumping. Things here don’t fall on deaf ears and they don’t get stale.

9) People here aren’t afraid to rock their style, whatever it may be. That means more than the shallow statement it may seem like at first. There’s just a sense of comfort within one’s differences that are embraced. I f*cking love that.

10) You may all be a bunch of incestuous bastards who book shows and have parties whenever I have a show, but there’s a special place for you deep in my heart. You make this place feel like home.

Jessica Sun Lee is a vocalist, songwriter, and guitarist for the late band The Sun Lee Sunbeam and the TBA new project with ex-‘Beam drummer Jeff Clarke, of which she plays bass. 
4 Comments
  1. That's a relief, I was worried that putting my mustache close to people's faces was going to get me arrested. I mean, I wasn't going to stop, but I was worried.

  2. i'm a little scared for the pants one now that you drew that to attention! haha

  3. I spilled Ad Frank's beer last night but I don't think I got any on his pants. I did get it all over myself. Party foul #492.

  4. THIS THIS THIS is so true!!! People told ME the same thing – Even AFP said as much as she won the Artist of the Year this year but I have NEVER experienced back stabbing or even negativity – just real honest support and comradeship! I hope that backstabbing doesn't really exist!!"There's support for the veterans as well as those just starting out. I had heard that the Boston music scene was brutal and backstabbing before I started playing out in '07. I was pleasantly surprised that those people were dead wrong. Perhaps they just hadn't put forth the effort to get to know the people they shared bills with."

Leave a Reply

