Skip to content

Forecast Crush: These are the things Rich is looking forward to in 2011

December 28, 2010

Ashley finished up the Best of 2010 lists earlier with her picks, so now it’s time to look ahead to 2011. Here’s a list, in no particular order, of what I’m excited about for the upcoming year.

1. The Brighton Music Hall – I can count on one hand the number of times I went to Harper’s Ferry and can’t think of anyone I’ve spoken to who was upset by it’s closing. Now that Mike Bishop has been hired as the local booker though, I’m genuinely excited to see what happens there. Despite what I say about him on Facebook and in real life, he’s one of the good ones and by hiring him the venue has shown that they don’t intend to turn a blind eye (ear?) to local music.

2. One Night Band 3 – The first one was a crazy success, the second one showed that it wasn’t just a novelty and the third one will turn it into an institution (no pressure, Ashley). When the first ONB was announced I said that if even one of the bands was able to pull it off it would be a sight to see, and then they all nailed it. Then it happened again. As soon as it was over I wanted to start working on the 2011 installment; even now, a few months later, I get excited thinking about the possibilities. Will the opening band command attention the way the BEDSS did? Will any of the songs stick in my brain the way that one Kate Murdoch and Marc Pinansky did with Voltron ForceFlex does? I don’t know, but I can guarantee that something great will happen.
Here’s the opening number from 2010:

3. The Sheila Divine – This is the band that got me into Boston music to begin with, so when I heard they were reuniting for a show I was happy. Then they said they’d also be recording a new album and I became thrilled beyond belief.
http://bandcamp.com/EmbeddedPlayer/track=3206743013/size=venti/bgcol=FFFFFF/linkcol=4285BB//

4. Unnamed Jessica Sun Lee / Jeff Clarke Project – I don’t know much about this one, just that Jessica is switching from guitar to bass and Jeff will still be playing drums. One thing I’ve been sure of for quite a while though is that Jessica is insanely talented and any project she’s part of will be awesome.

5. Cheap Leather – I saw these guys play their first show opening for someone at Great Scott a while back and was blown away. They’re gonna be huge, so get into them now.
This was shot at that first show this summer:

6. BrownBoot – Jesus, these guys. On the surface they’re just a bunch of dudes and a chick who formed a band because they were always hanging out together drinking anyway (I don’t think there’s a band out there that has more fun than BrownBoot). If you dig a little deeper, well, that impression will be confirmed, but if you go a little deeper than that you realize that they’re all awesome musicians. They’ve been working on an album that we should see at the beginning of the year; in the meantime we’ll have to make due with their live stuff:

7. RIBS are just awesome. They play intense, moody rock that begs to be listened to over and over. They spent 2010 steadily building momentum with a string of powerful gigs and are poised to really break out in the new year.
http://bandcamp.com/EmbeddedPlayer/album=3947323829/size=venti/bgcol=FFFFFF/linkcol=4285BB//

Richard Bouchard wears hats and keeps the unicorn in check. If anything is ever wrong on the blog, chances are it’s his fault. He is nothing without his editor.


One Comment
  1. …I'd never heard RIBS before, but I'd heard lots about them. Listening to them now, it dawns on me that a lot of people must really miss 2002. Me, I never really cared for it.

Leave a Reply

