Skip to content

Rumble Crush: Jenny Dee & the Deelinquents

March 29, 2011

The Rock ‘n’ Roll Rumble begins on Sunday, April 3. Check back for our daily interviews with participating Rumble bands leading up to the event. Full schedule here.

BBC: Introduce the members of your band.
Jen D’Angora (aka Jenny Dee): lead vocals
Ed Valauskas: bass guitar
Beka Dangora (yes, it’s spelled differently – we have different grandfathers): background vocals
Samantha Goddess: background vocals
Tony Goddess: guitar
Eric Salt: guitar, part-time percussion
Eric Anderson: drums
Phil Aiken: keys
Paul Ahlstrand (aka “O-Man”): sax
Andrew Jones: percussion

BBC: What does it mean to you to participate in the 32nd Rock ‘n’ Roll Rumble?
Jen D’Angora: It’s a Boston tradition, and I’m very proud to have been part of Boston rock for (ahem) over 10 years. So it means a lot.

BBC: Do you believe in the Rumble curse?
JD: Yes. I won’t elaborate, but I do.

BBC: Got any tricks up your sleeve for your set, or will it be business as usual?
JD: Oh, I’ve got a trick alright, but it’s not up my sleeve. It will be VERY visible, however.

BBC: How far do you think you’ll go in the competition?
JD: I don’t really know, and it doesn’t really matter. It’s nice to be asked, first and foremost, and I really like a whole lot of the bands playing. So I’m going to have fun no matter what.

BBC: What’s your bet on who will take the crown?
JD: Ooh. That’s tough. There are a lot of great bands in this, but it’s very hard to surpass the charisma of John Powhida. Walter Sickert, Do Not Forsake Me Oh My Darling, Full Body Anchor, OldJack, Blizzard of 78 are all great – and Triple Thick is my ultimate lo-fi garage fave. I can’t pick at all.

BBC: What other competing band are you most excited to see?
JD: All of ’em really – I don’t get out much these days so I miss a LOT of shows. This is a great way to see everyone I’ve missed!

BBC: What band would you have picked to compete this year that isn’t?
JD: The Sea Monsters.

BBC: Who’s your favorite past winner?
JD: The Gentlemen (got a big crush on the bass player), with Willie Alexander as a close second.

BBC: Got any smack-talk for your competition?
JD: I’ve got a secret weapon nobody else has got this year. Mwah-hah-hah…


Website

BandCamp
Twitter
Facebook

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Click here to see all of our 2011 Rumble coverage.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

